“Creep”–Radiohead

Radiohead – Creep (LIVE MTV BEACH HOUSE) 1994 (This one Rocks!!)

The song that exploded Radiohead into my world and likely the whole wide world is so great that as you can see below everyone from Macy Gray, The Pretenders to Moby try to cover it.

Do we love it because we feel like maybe we are all just creeps deep down?

Radiohead-Creep Live 1997

When you were here before
Couldn’t look you in the eye
You’re just like an angel
Your skin makes me cry

You float like a feather
In a beautiful world
I wish I was special
You’re so fucking special

English: Thom Yorke live on stage with Radiohead

English: Thom Yorke live on stage with Radiohead (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control
I want a perfect body
I want a perfect soul

I want you to notice
When I’m not around
You’re so fucking special
I wish I was special

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here

She’s running out the door
She’s running
She run, run, run, run
Run

Whatever makes you happy
Whatever you want
You’re so fucking special
I wish I was special

But I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here
I don’t belong here

Whatever the reason for the broad fascination, I love it because the song hovers precariously between poetic and unsettling.

Radiohead – Creep Live @ Reading Festival 2009 (Lyric)

Many Amazing Covers!

“Creep” Performed by The Pretenders

Macy Gray – Creep (Radiohead) @ North Sea Jazz 201

Moby – Creep (Radiohead’s cover)

Creep (Radiohead) – Carrie Manolakos
at Le Poisson Rouge in Greenwich Village on Monday, April 2nd, 2012

Kelly Clarkson sings “Creep” in Bakersfield CA

Jim Carrey Covers “Creep” At Arlene’s Grocery

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

