“A Change Is Gonna Come”–Sam Cooke

Sam Cooke – A Change Is Gonna Come

This is my song to honor the USA on its birthday. I know so much has changed, but so much still needs to change for Langston Hughes’ dream of America to be America again. I think this song is as true now as ever. Besides have you seen any more a brilliant group of vocalists sing one song?

There are too many amazing covers of this song by masterful artists, I can’t include all of them, but I will highlight some of the best: Patti Labelle, Aretha Franklin, Al Green, Bobby Womack, and even Bob Dylan.

Patti Labelle – Change is gonna come – Live one night only – HD

I was born by the river in a little tent
Oh and just like the river I’ve been running ever since
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

It’s been too hard living but I’m afraid to die
Cause I don’t know what’s up there beyond the sky
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

I go to the movie and I go downtown somebody keep telling me don’t hang around
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

Then I go to my brother
And I say brother help me please
But he winds up knockin’ me
Back down on my knees

Ohhhhhhhhh…..

There been times that I thought I couldn’t last for long
But now I think I’m able to carry on
It’s been a long, a long time coming
But I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will

Otis Redding

Aretha Franklin

Billy Preston

Al Green -Live

Luther Vandross Sings In Church


BOBBY WOMACK ( LIVE )

Tina Turner and Robert Cray

The Fugees and Lauren Hill

Bob Dylan unexpectedly covers Sam Cooke masterpiece

Playing For Change – Live at Folsom

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

