“Mirror in the Bathroom” –The English Beat

The Beat – Mirror In The Bathroom, Rockpalast, 1980

This Ska gem written by The English Beat singer and guitarist Dave Wakeling reminds me of my youth in the late 80s of Philly. Hair pouring over the front of my face, short and jagged around the ears and back of head. Tight jeans and Chuck Taylors and some black or checkered button down shirt worn for the night out with my mates. Trying to run the streets like I had any idea what I was doing and like we wouldn’t end up home alone with a couple of crappy beers from the Greek take-out on Spruce that would serve us kids.

Then there was this song to Skank around the room to and it was all alright.

The English Beat on Dance Craze live show!!

Mirror in the bathroom
please talk free
The door is locked
just you and me.
Can I take you to a restaurant
that’s got glass tables
You can watch yourself
while you are eating.
Mirror in the bathroom
I just can’t stop it,
Every Saturday you see me
window shopping.
Find no interest in the
racks and shelves
Just a thousand reflections
of my own sweet self, self, self…
Mirror in the bathroom
You’re my mirror in the bathroom
You’re my mirror in the bathroom
You’re my mirror in the bathroom…
Mirror in the bathroom
recompense
For all my crimes
of self defense.
Cures you whisper
make no sense
Drift gently into
mental illness.
Mirror in the bathroom
please talk free
The door is locked
just you and me.
Can I take you to a restaurant
that’s got glass tables
You can watch yourself
while you are eating.
Mirror in the bathroom
Mirror in the bathroom…

The official video

Fifi from the Sinkhole Album and the SLC Punk Film

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. uwemwldinfo | Being the mirror of you - August 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

