“Where The Streets Have No Name”–U2

Live At Slane Castle

U2 – Live on a roof 7th and Main Street in LA in 1987

I almost picked “One” as my first U2 posting but I stumbled upon the Slane Castle performance and realized instantly “Where The Streets Have No Name” is signature rocking out U2. The performance at Slane Castle, Ireland is a week after Bono’s father past away (respect), and Bono’s performance is transcendent.

The second track stopped traffic on a steaming day in LA as they pulled a Beatles to play a roof top jam that get’s shut down by johnny law.

U2 is the ultimate stadium rock, anthem band. No group does it bigger and this is being written by a disciple of The Who. Sorry Pete.

Note the covers below by Muse and 30 Seconds to Mars.

I want to run, I want to hide
I want to tear down the walls that hold me tonight
I want to reach out and touch the flame
Where the streets have no name
I want to feel sunlight on my face
I see that rain cloud disappearing without a trace
But I can dance, dance, dance in the dirty rain

Where the streets have no name
Where the streets have no name
Where the streets have no name
We’re still building, then burning down love
We’re burning down love
And when I go there, I go there with you
It’s all I can do

Give it up

The cities a flood and our love turns to rust
We’re beaten and blown by the wind
We’re trampled in dust
I’ll show you a place with no sorrow or pain

Where the streets have no name
Where the streets have no name
Where the streets have no name
We’re still building, then burning down love
We’re burning down love
And when I go there, I go there with you
It’s all I can do

Oh love
Love, love, love

Where the streets have no name
Where the streets have no name
We’re still building, then burning down love
We’re burning down love
And when I go there, I go there with you
It’s all we can do


Muse (feat. The Edge) live @ Glastonbury 2010

Thirty Seconds To Mars

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

